The Holy Spirit is Awesome

I love when God speaks to me.  It really is an amazing experience.  I’d just like to encourage all of you, that when God has given you a word for someone, to speak it.  I know I’ve regretted not speaking up in the past.  I truly believe that when God gives you a supernatural dream or vision, it’s for a good reason.  If you know that that reason is to share it with others, then not sharing is disobedience to God (sin).

If you’re not willing to step out and obey God, then who will?  Sometimes God will move on to somebody else; maybe the blessing you were meant to receive will be given to another.  It’s happened to me a few times before.  One time, I had a vision at a men’s camping trip last Spring during a time of prayer.  In it, I saw a heap of glowing charcoal, and one lone coal was separated from the rest.  The problem with the single coal is that it was quickly cooling off, while the rest of the coals were keeping each other hot.  I knew that God was speaking to all of us praying there, that we all needed to stay connected to God and each other, for the purpose of staying strong in the faith.  I really knew that it was a word from the Lord, but I was too scared to say anything.  Long story short, a few minutes later, our campus pastor Ross Middleton shared a vision he had seen.  It was the exact same one as mine!  I guess someone really needed to hear it.  It made me sad that I was too afraid to step out in faith, and failed God in the process.

Thankfully, God has been changing me.  Now I find it much easier to share things like that.  I’m hoping that the Holy Spirit can change me even more, enough to be completely free of fear! 

Hopefully my testimony has been a sufficient warning against you staying silent.  Please, readers, don’t ever be afraid to speak the truth.  It doesn’t matter how uncomfortable you are; you need to obey God.  I’ll leave you with these words of Jesus:

“I am the vine; you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” -John 15:5

4 thoughts on “The Holy Spirit is Awesome

  1. Liz Feyh

    That’s a really cool vision, and very straight forward. I know sometimes I get visions that aren’t that clear, but once I figure them out I still don’t say anything about them to anyone besides Lexi (shocking, I know). I’ve been working on it, but lately I haven’t had anymore visions. Hopefully God will give me another chance to share His greatness!!!

    P.S. I’m still holding out for my verse to appear on your blog!

  2. Good stuff, Joel. I’ve had many similar experiences, and I’ve also been working stepping out when God gives me something to say. It’s actually not so scary, especially when you start by practicing on spiritual family. They make good guinea pigs!

  3. Lexi

    Joel! Man, I really agree with this post. Hallelujah that God has been working on you about that-nothing like a good conviction to get your spiritual blood pumping. Stay in His Word, we can do it! We WILL do it!

Leave a Reply

