Benefits of Fasting

Since a few people I know are fasting right now, I decided to write a little bit about the benefits of fasting.  Here’s a short list:

1. Righteousness

Of course, in order for fasting to work, we need to do it right.  If the only thing our fasting produces is anger and frustration, it’s not right (Isaiah 58:3-4).  If we fast only to be humble, bowed down and feeling sorry for stuff, it’s wrong (seriously, read Isaiah 58:5).  When we fast, we should bring justice, freedom and mercy to the people around us.  We should be feeding the hungry, sheltering the homeless, clothing the naked.  Basically, if your fasting is not producing righteousness, you’re not doing it right (Isaiah 58:6-10)!  If you think about it, this just makes sense.  As you grow closer to God through fasting, He should rub off on you more than usual.  And God is righteous!

2. Closeness to God

Well, I already mentioned this in the last few sentences of number 1, but it’s so true!  When you fast and seek after God, He will draw near to you.  Do you need direction in your life?  How about some revelation?  Try fasting.  After Daniel fasted for three weeks (Dan. 10:2-3), God sent an angel to give him a great revelation.  If God can do that for Daniel, He can do it for us as well.

3. Blessings

Yeah, I know it may sound a little selfish, but I want blessing from God!  In the book of Joel, Israel was in a bad state.  All of their crops had just been destroyed by an infestation of locusts.  So, what did God tell them to do?  That’s right, He told them to fast!  After they returned to God, He promised to bless their land with everything they needed and more.  God really does care for us, you know.  I think that sometimes He’s waiting for us to get serious about Him before He deals out the goodness.

Our verse of the day is Joel 2:22.  I found this verse on the Campus Harvest trip about a month ago.  Our bus had gotten lost, so we had to miss some of the conference in order to have dinner.  I really wanted to be on time to the meeting, so I tried to act all holy and spit out some garbage about getting our whole bus to fast because the Bible says it’s good.  My friend Liz insisted that the Bible has tons of stuff to say about eating food being good too.  Then I foolishly challenged her to find a verse about it, [thinking at the time, but definitely not now that] she didn’t know any.  Unfortunately for me, the random verse that she got off the top of her head (from God, maybe?) was Joel 2:22, which actually has to do with food.  I was greatly humbled.  So all this to say, God doesn’t want us to be miserable all the time.  He wants to give us blessings as well! 

I think it’s okay to say that one of the benefits of fasting is getting to eat at the end of it…

“Be not afraid, O wild animals, for the open pastures are becoming green.  The trees are bearing their fruit; the fig tree and the vine yield their riches.” -Joel 2:22

2 thoughts on “Benefits of Fasting

  1. Liz Feyh

    FINALLY! I’ve been waiting for my verse to get the recognition it deserves! I just have one little problem with your story…. “Then I foolishly challenged her to find a verse about it, knowing she didn’t know any.” I am offended! You think I’m bible stupid! 😦 I guess I’ll forgive you again, but you are coming dangerously close to forgiveness #77. I’m glad I could humble you with my wealth of bible knowledge you KNEW I didn’t have. I’m not bitter…. anymore.

  2. Mom H.

    Hey Joel! Dad and I are praying with you as you seek His face. It was good to see Eric in the photo. I don’t know about that prank, though. I’m feeling a little protective of my son. I know I’m covering more than one topic on one comment. Is that allowed? Anyway, Dad will be calling tomorrow. Have a good night. Say goodnight to Eric. We love you both!

Leave a Reply

