Thunderstorms

I love rainy days.  There’s just something about the rain that makes you feel at home no matter where you are.  The atmosphere is intoxicating: the eerie darkness, the sound of the water showering onto the roof, the wind whipping through the trees, the blinding flashes of lightning followed by the deep roar of thunder.  I could seriously sit and stare out a window for hours on end, watching the rain fall.  It makes me feel like lighting up the fireplace, curling up in a blanket on the couch, sipping some hot chocolate, and casually reading a book about philosophy.

Something about the rain makes me want to stop everything I’m doing, take a little time and think about life.  Think about it: the same God who created the wind and rain is the very one who lives in my heart.  The power that can control waves and throw mountains into the sea is my God!  I thank Him for putting a roof over my head, food on the table, dry clothes to change into.  The Awesome God that created this amazing system we call Nature created me!  He sacrificed Himself, died on a cross, so that I could live.  He loves this world He created; He wants us to know Him.  His Love is perfect.  His Peace is endless.  His Joy is higher that anyone could ever dream of.  And I belong to Him; I’m His son.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to wrap my mind around how great He really is, but it’s fun to try.

“You heavens above, rain down righteousness; let the clouds shower it down.  Let the earth open wide, let salvation spring up, let righteousness grow with it; I, the LORD, have created it.” -Isaiah 45:8

2 thoughts on “Thunderstorms

  1. Lexi

    Amen Joel! I love the rain as well. Hallelujah to the rest…minus the son part, insert daughter and I completely agree. God really is more than we can understand, who wants a god that can be defined by human minds? Not me1 I want/have a God who blows my mind every time I think of Him, who created me in His image and still considers me worth enough to shed His perfect blood for me. I don’t get that, and I love that I don’t get it. My Lord strikes loving fear and awe in me. Wahooo!!!

  2. Liz Feyh

    So your first paragraph is definitely my idea of a perfect day! But sometimes I watch a movie instead of read…. Anyway God super rocks for being able to create everything majestic and then dwell inside of me. I’m totally not worthy, but he does it anyway. What can I say; he loves me!

    P.S. He loves you too!

Leave a Reply

