Opportunity Lost

About five weeks ago, I started having a series of six dreams, all on different nights over the period of about three weeks.  They weren’t very complicated dreams; each one was just a short dream illustrating, I think, a spiritual concept that God wants me to realize in my life.  Each dream also brought out a different emotional response from me that I believe God wanted me to feel.  Over the next six days, I will be writing about these dreams one at a time, because each one deserves its own post.

As the title suggests, my first dream was about lost opportunities.  It had two parts, with each part illustrating the same point: I could have done something to prevent a tragedy, but I didn’t.  Here it is:

Part 1:  I was walking down a sidewalk late at night, when I saw a friend of mine walking a little ways ahead of me.  Her back was turned, because she was walking in the same direction I was.  I thought about shouting to her and getting her attention, but I decided against it.  I don’t really know why, but I think I was just trying to stay comfortable.  She continued walking away, and she started crossing an intersection ahead of us.  To my horror, a black pickup that was driving toward us made a left turn into the intersection and directly hit my friend, sending her flying a short distance.  I ran over to help, but there was nothing I could do.  She was paralyzed.

Part 2: My friend and I were at a rock concert.  I was in the back of the audience, but she was in the front standing beside a huge speaker.  I knew that the noise coming out of the speaker was really loud, but I didn’t do anything to warn her of that fact.  She stayed there the whole time, and afterwards, she was completely deaf.

Well, both these stories were really powerful.  Both had to do with my lack of active responsibility to others and the consequences of my inactions.  You may think that just not talking to someone isn’t such a big deal, and that something like what happened in my dream would never happen in real life.  Think about it for a while.  Who’s to say your depressed classmate who you’ve been meaning to reach out to doesn’t kill himself tonight?  Who’s to say your best friend since high school, who you just haven’t gotten around to telling about Jesus, doesn’t get drunk and run into a pole going 90 mph next week?  No one can know the future.  The only thing you can control is yourself, right now.

Passivity is a sin.  God gives us opportunities at a specific time for a specific purpose.  Going against His will can and will lead to disaster.  Maybe not just for you, but for others as well.  There are real consequences for sin: paralysis and deafness.  If you’re in the habit of giving in to passivity, those lies from the pit of hell, these two things can happen.  First, you are paralyzed spiritually, unable to move.  When God wants you for something, you will be unable to do it because you are so trapped in sin.  Second, you are deafened spiritually, unable to hear God’s voice.  He may be trying to tell you something, but you will not have the ability to listen.

What will you do right now?  What opportunities do you have now that may be gone forever in a matter of moments?  There is only one today.  Once it’s gone, you can never get it back.  I give you one piece of advice in closing: speak up while you have the chance.  You may never get another one.  We should all have the greatest urgency to see the world around us changed for Christ.  If we don’t, we are living in deception.  Here’s an amazing and sobering verse:

“But if the watchman sees the sword coming and does not blow the trumpet to warn the people and the sword comes and takes the life of one of them, that man will be taken away because of his sin, but I will hold the watchman accountable for his blood.” -Ezekiel 33:6

3 thoughts on “Opportunity Lost

  1. Liz Feyh

    Wow, that’s a really crazy dream. I’m glad you were able to learn from them and I’m glad you are sharing it with everyone. I will definitely make a more conscious effort to reach out to others. Thanks for the life lesson; can’t wait to read the other 5

  2. Lexi

    Yikes, Joel. Amazing dream. I anticipate the others. It’s just awesome how God speaks to all of us differently, He’s very creative. Glad He gave you the dreams AND the interpretations. Keep up the blogging. For all we know, these blogs could be outlets to let the world know about Jesus as well. Keep watch Brother!

  3. Eric Hansen

    Thanks for sharing. That is probably one of the sins with the strongest hold on me. Please pray for me that I can overcome it, with the Lord’s help.

Leave a Reply

