Death

My second dream was about a death.  Don’t worry; as I said in my last post, these dreams were definitely not realistic prophecies of future events, just short lessons that conveyed an emotional response from me.  This dream, above all else, got me thinking about the concept of death and how it does and should affect us.

It was a very short dream, this second one.  It wasn’t bloody or graphic, as dreams about death sometimes are.  All I saw was the image of a friend, and all I knew was that she had died.  I remember feeling sad while I dreamed.  I wasn’t shocked, broken or afraid.  I was accepting the fact of her death.  That was the end.

Usually when I have a nightmare about someone dying, I wake up scared, then fall back to sleep when I realize it was just a dream.  This dream was much different.  In this dream, I never saw my friend die.  In fact, the images I saw of her were very much alive.  It was like watching a video of someone at their funeral.

Anyway, I think the main point that God was trying to get through to me is this: some things are not in our control.  What’s done cannot be changed.  It is finished.  I’ve had a few friends and aquaintences pass away from tragic accidents, people my age.  The one similarity among them is that they’re not coming back, at least not in this life.  Yes, we mourn.  We comfort their families.  We remember the time they were here on earth.  But their lives are over, and we still have ours to live.

I more recently started thinking about the process of dying to sin.  We actually discussed this in Life Group tonight as well.  When we became believers in Jesus, our old sinful nature was killed.  In fact, it may even be more accurate to say it was always dead.  As children of God, we live a new life, born again into Christ’s Kingdom.  We no longer live according to our old ways; at least, we shouldn’t.  As new people, alive in Christ, we should accept the fact that our sin is dead.  Sure, it may have been fun in the past, but we have a better life now.  We may have some hurts or condemnation about past sins, but do you know what?  What’s done cannot be changed.  It is finished.  The sins of the past are just that: of the past.  I don’t know, you may be living with the consequences of your past now, but that doesn’t mean you have to let it keep you down.  We have a life to live right now, and that is the only thing we can change.

Some of you may be living with past hurts.  I tell you: God does not want you to live with those pains any longer.  We are victorious in Christ Jesus.  Cry out to Him, and He will rescue you.  Others may be struggling with that dead sinful nature creeping back into their lives.  I’m saying, let it go.  Accept its deadness.  It has no place among those born again to righteousness.  God will purify us.  All we need to do is ask Him.

“For we know that since Christ was raised from the dead, he cannot die again; death no longer has mastery over him. The death he died, he died to sin once for all; but the life he lives, he lives to God.  In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus.” -Romans 6:9-11

2 thoughts on “Death

  1. Grace Kim

    Hey joel. Wow that’s some perspective 🙂 keep it up man. Ur one annointed bro. It’s amazing how God can show us things in His perspective and it just blows our minds or His hand smacks our faces when we scratch the mere surface of all His ways of thinking..hope that made sense haha. It sounds lifegroup’s been amazing and i’m glad to hear it! Bless ya n i’ll see you later. Btw, ur prayers were brilliant Tuesday; granted i’m sure they always were 🙂

  2. Ann Hansen

    Very nice, Joel. Can you comment on your own post in order to answer questions? What does Btw stand for? I let Uncle Eric know about your blog. Maybe he’ll get a chance to check it out!

Leave a Reply

