Voice

Each of us has a voice, a way of expressing our thoughts, beliefs and desires.  My fifth dream was about the neccesity of using that voice.  Here it is:

My dad and I were at a concert.  It was a really small concert; there were only a few other people in the audience besides us.  The room was pretty small, and there were around 60 chairs set up for the five or so people.  Some random Christian rock group was on the small stage, playing some songs calmly.  Despite the lack of a big crowd or giant speakers, pyrotechnics and things, I was enjoying myself and singing along.  All of a sudden, the band stopped, and the lead singer stepped down from the stage.  He walked over to where my dad and I were standing and said to me, “You have a good voice.”  Right then I heard something in the back of my mind (I think it was the Holy Spirit) that said, “Use it.”

Now I don’t think that dream could have been any clearer than it was.  I have a voice, a part of me that can express myself to others.  I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes I have a hard time using it.  It’s so easy for me to shrink into the background and let other people do all the talking.  I’ll let others do the comforting, the encouraging, the rebuking that so often needs to be done.  I will hold back from saying things that I could, or should say.  That is what needs to change.  I must speak up in those times.

I’ve definitely seen some improvement in the last few weeks thanks to this word form God.  In fact, this dream is one of the reasons I started this blog.  This dream is the reason that one day, when faced with a choice between stepping out to lead worship and going home, I chose to worship.  I’m making it a goal now, to speak when the time is right.  With God’s help, I know I can do it.

Readers and friends, God has given each of us a voice.  He’s given each of us the ability, the capacity to speak the truth to others.  So use it!  Don’t let anything hinder the words of the Lord!  Throw off the sin that so easily entangles!  For He has not given us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, love and self-discipline!  Out of abundance of the heart the mouth speaks, so let your heart overflow with the love of Christ.  Let that love flow into the hearts of others.  You have a voice; now use it for His glory.  Meditate on this verse:

“LORD, who may dwell in your sanctuary?
       Who may live on your holy hill? 
 He whose walk is blameless
       and who does what is righteous,
       who speaks the truth from his heart”
-Psalm 15:1-2

One thought on “Voice

Leave a Reply

