Tree of Life

Oh, well.  Today has been a great Sunday.  I got to listen to an amazing sermon about the spiritual discipline of reading the Bible… twice!  I got to play lead guitar on a keyboard, lose a few games of basketball and ping pong, and learn about theology!  I have so much joy right now; I love it.

Today I just want to share a little vision I had on Friday night during a time of prophesy at Victory Weekend.  While praying, I saw a picture of the Tree of Life in the Garden.  It was a small tree with red fruit on it, sitting in the middle of a grassy clearing.  Surrounding the clearing was a sunny orchard, and beyond that, towering mountains.  Suddenly, the Tree started growing exponentially.  Instead of a small fruit tree, it was now a giant oak tree covered in small white flowers.  But it didn’t stop there.  It kept growing, and finally grew into a huge mushroom cloud.

This is where I came in.  Miles away from the tree, I stood.  I was in a dry, grey desert: a land that looked like it may have been a river or sea in the past, but was now cracked and lifeless, dried up.  Anyway, as I stood there, I saw the mushroom cloud growing, its shock-wave of power coming towards me.  It overcame me, and I disintegrated, dry chunks of grey flesh breaking off of my body before dissolving into dust.  Before going blank, I had one glimpse of the land beyond the destructive power of the Tree of Life, the land within the cloud: it was the garden, the original picture I’d seen, the fruit tree and the orchard.  But I could not experience it, because I was dead, killed by my impact with the power of Life.

This was not the end of the vision.  Thank God it was not the end.  Rewind back to when I first showed myself in the vision.  I stood in awe of the nuclear shock-wave coming towards me.  However, this time was different.  This time, someone else ran up behind me, grabbed me, spun me around and used his body as a human shield to protect me.  As the shock-wave swept by, I was not harmed, but the man was killed.  I watched as stripes, red stripes were ripped from his back.  Blood spurting out, flesh being torn away, he was clam, embracing me in his strong arms.  He didn’t let me go until the judgement had past by.  As I looked around, I found myself in the beautiful garden, alive.

That man was Jesus Christ.  He is my Savior.  Only through Him can I get to heaven.  Purity and Life cannot mix with sin.  By all rights, I should be dead.  I deserve the judgement from Holy God.  I thank you, Jesus, for saving me from annihilation.  Why would God take the punishment for my sin?  How does that even make sense?  The answer is this: God is Love.  Love is who He is.  And no man has a greater love than this: that he lay down his life for his friends.  He loves us.  That’s why he saves us.  That is why he took our punishment on that cross and endured the pain of death.  Oh, how He loves you.  He died so you can live, by resting in His arms.  Live!  Please, live!  Don’t let His death be for nothing.  Live…

“God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” -2 Corinthians 5:21

3 thoughts on “Tree of Life

  1. Lexi

    wow Joel. I love visions, praise God that He knows both sides of everything, and chooses to act in ways that benefit us. What an awesome God! Thanks for sharing Joel!

Leave a Reply

