Prince

At Victory Weekend last Friday night, someone came up to me and said, “God wants you to know, you’re a prince.”  Wow, I love God; He always comes through with a word of encouragement for me when I really need it.  I know I’ve struggled with identity issues in the past.  Lately, I’ve been coming to terms with who I really am.  I am a son of the King of Kings.  I’m not some distrought beggar, striving just to please God or else suffer His wrath.  Jesus already took that punishment for me.  Now I am a son of God, a prince.  I should live like one.

I’m reminded of the movie Spaceballs.  In the film, the hero Lone Star really likes Princess Vespa.  The only problem is, he thinks he can’t marry her, because he doesn’t know that he’s really a prince.  After Yogurt reveals the truth to Lone Star, that he really is a prince, he lives happily ever after with his princess.  The knowledge that he was born royalty was the deciding factor of his destiny.

When we are born again as new men into Christ’s glorious Kingdom, we are not born into poverty.  We don’t start out at the bottom, having to work our way up in the ranks.  We are born into royalty!  Right from the start of our relationship with God, we are born as princes and princesses in the Kingdom.  We are chosen; we are royal; we are holy.  We are loved as sons and daughers of the King.  Here’s a great verse:

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.”
-1 Peter 2:9

5 thoughts on “Prince

  1. Lexi

    Hallelujah! Awesome post Joel! We just don’t fully understand WHO we are in Christ. Great stab at identity-this really renewed my joy. Amen Joel!

Leave a Reply

