Food For Thought

Sometimes, you can have too much of a good thing.  When things get excessive, sometimes they’re just wrong.  Take food, for instance.  Just to let you know, I love food.  I think it’s great.  Sometimes, though, the simple act of stuffing yourself can get nasty.

I participated in a food eating contest today.  I came in last place, and do you know why?  It’s because I didn’t want to make myself sick.  Well, plus, I’m not that much of an eater.  And I just stopped fasting a week ago.  That really isn’t an excuse, because most of the people who beat me had been too.

What’s the point of this post?  I’m not really sure.  I actually did end up making myself a little sick.  I do that too much, I think.  Maybe I should think a little more before I eat… One thing I’m grateful for, though: you can never get too much of God’s Spirit.  I really love the Proverbs:

“Do not eat the food of a stingy man, do not crave his delicacies; for he is the kind of man who is always thinking about the cost.  “Eat and drink,” he says to you, but his heart is not with you.  You will vomit up the little you have eaten and will have wasted your compliments.” -Proverbs 23:6-8

2 thoughts on “Food For Thought

  1. Ann H

    O.K. Joel, You’re stretching it! Is there a verse that says anything about moderation? I do love your sense of humor, though. Sorry I’m a little behind on reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

