Changing Times

I was thinking about the future today.  I usually try not to do that too often, because the Bible says in Matt. 6:34 not to worry about the future.  Sometimes, though, I guess you need to think about it.

What will this life bring to me in the near future?  What will I be doing in say, half a year?  These are the kinds of questions I was thinking about today.  I was prophesied over last Wednesday, and a few things stood out to me with regards to this.  I was told to take advantage of the time given to me, and that the next three years would be a great time of spiritual growth for me.  I should not worry about things like future relationships, but I should use this time to grow in the Lord.

Honestly, I have no big dreams for the future.  I don’t know “what I want to be when I grow up”, if you will.  I know that God has called me to greatness, as He does everyone, but I have no idea what that means specifically for me.  Right now I think I want to stay in Tallahassee after I graduate, at least for a while.  I want to find a job and support myself, but ultimately, I’m waiting to find my purpose.  I want to grow in my relationship with God.

I’m tempted to stay in Tally just for the fun of it, to hold onto some sort of “college life” feeling, but I think that’s wrong.  Once I graduate, I will not be in college any more.  My life will be different.  I need to move on from the former things.  After high school, I knew needed to move on to a new city, a new college, a new church family.  This time, I know I need to move into a new season of life.  It may not be moving to a new city, but I will still be in a completely different season than I’m finishing now.  God wants me to embrace this new season with confidence, knowing that whatever it brings will be good and for my benefit.  He will do everything in His power(that’s a lot, by the way) to help me start fresh.

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
       for his compassions never fail. 
 They are new every morning;
       great is your faithfulness.”
-Lamentations 3:22-23

3 thoughts on “Changing Times

  1. Lexi

    Shucks Joel. I know you’re entering into a new season and all, but I sure am going to miss you tons. I pray that God grows you a ridiculous amount in the coming season. I’m a little sad about all of this, you know. If you don’t cry, I won’t cry, but I make no promises. Embrace each new day Joel! God’s worked it out from your vantage point, and in your best interest. I love you Joel. Stay strong Brother!

  2. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, either, so joing the club! We should get T-shirts or someething! Seriously, though, I think you’re in a great place right now, and I can’t wait to see what God does in you in this next season. Post-college life is a little scary, or at least it was for me, but you’ll learn to depend on God in a whole new way. It’s pretty sweet!

  3. bella

    yay joel, welcome to the here in tally after graduation club!! though we are losing some members, 😦
    its ok joel, you can hang out with me and lauren, well, at least until she leaves. it’ll be more josh training. lol. jk. 🙂 ill be honest, it gets “confusing” for awhile. i think i recently am coming out the so-called “confused” state. (only to get into another one!) but its all good. get ready for some faith stretching. though you dont “know what you will do when you grow up”, you are growing up. its a crazy crazy process, but you will grow tremendously. God is good. real good.

Leave a Reply

