With A Smile

I get so frustrated every time I see someone putting another person down, especially when I have no ability to help the situation.  Some people have a tendency to be very condescending, and I suppose I may be one of them.  I don’t think anything could be much more selfish than joking about someone else’s weaknesses and failings.  Saying a very hurtful thing with a smile is, I believe, just another way our own insecurity shows itself.

Is there some predisposition in all of us to want to feel better than someone else?  Well, yeah.  It’s called sin.  And we all struggle with it.  The things I hate about sin are usually the things I struggle with myself, and are the easiest to resent in others.  I think that a condescending attitude comes primarily through our own insecurity with ourselves.

I think I may write another post about this topic in the future.  In closing, here’s a verse:

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.” -Philippians 2:3

Leave a Reply

