Adventure

Well, tomorrow my family and I head out on vacation.  We’ll be in California and Hawaii for about a month.  I’ll try to update this blog as much as possible, but I’ll probably end up missing a few more days than I’d like to.  It’s okay, though.  I’ll live not being able to blog every day.  My life is way more than this blog, but this has definitely been a most enjoyable discipline I’ve started.  I do love to write.

Hopefully, when I do get a chance to write, I’ll have something interesting to say.  I’m definitely anticipating this trip to be a very amazing one.  I hope to grow closer to God,my family and my own soul.  It will definiely be an adventure.  I’ll have new things to see and new people to meet, old friends and family to see again.

As I’m thinking about this, I’m wondering: shouldn’t my whole life be an adventure?  You never know where God will lead you.  When a heart is fully submitted to God, who knows what it will become?  I’m 20 years old, guys.  I have no job, no girlfriend and no clear calling I’m working toward.  Now more than ever, I want to be an open vessel, letting God lead my steps.  For who else could be a better guide?  Life is much more than a job, a wife or a city to live in: God has much bigger plans for me, much better plans for you.  Pouring out our lives for Him: what could be a higher calling than serving the creator of the universe in every way He wants you to?

We should be ready for anything.  Be ready for the call of God to come on your heart.  Life really is all about Jesus.  If we aren’t ready to go when the call comes, we will be left out of the wedding party.  Keep your lamp burning.  Be prepared.  Jesus will come like a thief in the night, but if we are ready for Him, we will not be surprised.  We are children of the light, not darkness.  Don’t get sidetracked by life’s daily grind.  A job?  Fine.  You need to support yourself, of course.  But what is your greater calling, what your heart burns for?  Chase after it, that greater vision from God.  That is your adventure.

We’re all just people on this earth.  There’reabout six billion of us here.  What can you do to change this world?  Probably a heckuva lot more than you know.  But God knows.  That’s why we have to listen to His voice.  He’ll speak to you.  Just listen.

“Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.” -Ephesians 5:15-16

Leave a Reply

