Stress

Well, today was the first day of vacation.  I’m writing right now from a hotel room in New Orleans.  We’ll fly out in the morning to California.  Thank the Lord for wireless Internet!

One thing I noticed today as everyone was trying to get out of the house: the stress level was extremely high.  Personally, my allergies were killing me this morning.  I got really frustrated, and I even snapped at my mom one time.  It really wasn’t a good time for any of us, trying to pack everything and get on the road.

What is the solution to all this stress?  I’ll tell you one thing I’ve learned to do: pray.  Really, sometimes it’s the only thing you can do.  Take a quick break and acknowledge God as your provider.  Keep an open heart towards God.  Let Him get you through trying times.  Be quick to forgive the ones who offend you.  By relying on God, and less on your own strength, by putting your problems in His hands, you basically give all your stress away.  I’m not saying it will be painless.  I’m sure it won’t.  But Jesus really can heal wounded hearts.  It’s only by trusting in Him that we have any hope of coming out of a stressful situation with our hearts in one piece.

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” -Matthew 11:29-30

Leave a Reply

