The Worldwide Body Of Christ

Hey all!  I know I haven’t been writing much lately, but hopefully that will change very soon.  As some of you may know, I’ve been on a five-week vacation to California.  It was really great, in case you were wondering.  I think I learned a lot about myself and my family in the past few weeks, so maybe I’ll get to share some of that pretty soon.  But I’ll get to my point for today.

In my travels over the last several weeks, my family and I visited five different churches.  In fact, I’ve been to seven different churches in the last seven weeks including both of my home churches in Pensacola and Tallahassee.  It really was a new experience for me, and a very good one at that.  I loved seeing both the diversity and similarities among all the local churches.  Each one had its own style, its own way of worshipping God.  And that’s what was so great!  Whether the church was in a base chapel, YMCA or their own building, they all had one thing in common: Jesus.  They all worship the same God.

Honestly, I can say that I felt at home in every single one of them.  I even got to thinking, “What if I stayed here?  How could I serve the Lord from here?”  Of course, that’s all hypothetical thinking.  I know where God has me for this season of my life, and that’s a great thing.  I’m sure that God has each one of you in a great place too; either that or He’s in the process of bringing you there.  But don’t be afraid to move on, if that’s His will.  It’s funny: I made some fast friends in some of the places.  It was so amazing to see the family of God, even though we didn’t even know each other, recognize the bond we all have together, the Word of God.

If you get anything from this post, take this: in Christ, we’re all family.  It doesn’t matter where you’re from, what your traditions are, or what language you speak.  We are all children of the Most High.  We can worship together.

“Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.”
-1 Corinthians 12:27

Leave a Reply

