Generosity

What is money, and why do we love it so much?  It’s not a bad thing: just a representation of work done, used to acquire things that we want.  The problem arises when we start to love it.  Take a look at this verse:

“For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs.”–1 Timothy 6:10

What is the love of money?  Simply this: putting our faith in the world to give us the desires of our heart.  I’ve had conversations with several Christian friends about this.  Some lift up money, their own comfort, above even their own faith in God.  They say things like “I would never give my money to [insert some good cause here],” because they see themselves as poor.  Here’s the truth.  To live a fulfilling life, all we need is God.  In God, we have the riches of His Kingdom.  That’s infinitely more than any earthly money could provide.  It doesn’t matter how much we have on earth; we are rich in Christ.  That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t work, because you definitely should.  Sloth is a sin.  But you should work as to the Lord, not for yourself.

For some Biblical inspiration about generosity, read Matthew chapter 6.  Notice that one of the main points is to not give to be seen by others.  People who give their money away on TV receive no reward in heaven.  They give to be seen by men, and gain worldly respect and admiration.  We should give out of the love in our hearts for God and others, not ourselves.

Honestly, this is a scary post for me to write.  If you haven’t noticed, I usually write about things that God is working me through in my own life.  This is definitely one of them.  On one hand, it almost seems that my friends are more honest than I am, because I know I can be just as stingy.  This is one area where I think most of us could use a lot more faith.  We must be willing to give God every part of our lives, and that includes all our finances.  I know I have a long way to go in this area, but I also know that God will bring me through.

“No servant can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.”–Luke 16:13

Leave a Reply

