Dissatisfaction

I don’t know; over the last several days, I’ve started to feel a bit dissatisfied with my life and relationship with God.  Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t think it’s a bad thing.  I think the correct Biblical term for it is urgency.  I suppose that would be be the opposite of procrastination and laziness.  You see, I have a lot of patience, which is a virtue, but sometimes I think it creeps into “evil form,” namely, procrastination.  So I’m actually pretty excited right now.  I’ve prayed a great many times for God to give me urgency, and it’s finally starting to happen.

I think that in our Christian walk, it’s easy to see ourselves as “doing pretty well” in life.  You know, no complaints, that sort of thing.  You definitely aren’t supposed to compare yourself to other people, right?  So if you’re content with your life right now, it’s all good… right?  Um, actually, I don’t think so.  We need to look to God for our standard, not our own comfort level.  I think the devil lies to us in this way; if he can keep us in one place, we will never grow into the full image of God.  We should always be changing, becoming more like Jesus, growing in our faith.  We will never be like Jesus if we stop moving forward.

Ask, and you will receive.  Ask God for greater faith, greater love, greater purity, greater intimacy with Him.  Believe for a life of holiness and power.  Don’t ever stop, because none of us are there yet.

“And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”–2 Corinthians 3:18

One thought on “Dissatisfaction

  1. Yet again, we are on the same page. I know the tendency to let contentment (which I believe we should have) spill over into laziness or mediocrity is something I’ve been fighting with a lot lately as well.

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

