The Lost Bible Adventure

Okay, so here’s how it went down on Saturday.  I had just left a prayer meeting at IHOP, and I was planning on going to a friend’s apartment to watch the FSU game.  I walked over to my station wagon, put my Bible and notebook on the roof and called my friend Othniel for directions.  After a short conversation, and the subsequent receiving of the directions, I hopped into the driver’s seat, started the car and drove off.

After driving about a block down the road, I noticed in the rear-view mirror a white paper thing flying off into the street behind me.  “Hmm,” I thought.  “I hope that wasn’t an important paper or anything.”  I turned and looked into the back seat to see what was missing, but then realized that my back windows weren’t even open.  So I checked the front seat beside me and found everything in it’s place.  “Oh no.”  I realized what it was.  I’d just bought that Bible a few months ago, and the notebook was full of spiritual notes from the last two years: sermon notes, personal thoughts, little poems and such.  You know, I was scared.

Thoughts racing through my head like “what will I do without those notes?” and “I’ll have to buy a new Bible,” I took the first u-turn I could, waiting for what seemed like an eternity for traffic to pass by, all the while staring in my mirrors, hoping that my books wouldn’t be destroyed.  I finally made it back to the intersection where my books lay, and had to watch in dispair as my notebook was run over several times and the pages of my Bible looked like they were about to tear out every time a violent gust from a passing car blew over it.

I pulled in to a Shell station right next to the intersection, jumped out of the car as fast as I could, and ran into the street.  I grabbed my notebook first, since it was closer and because it was more irreplaceable.  Then, throwing it into the grass by the sidewalk, I rushed back out to get my Bible.  Thank God there was hardly any traffic at the time I was running all over the street.  That would have really sucked to have been hit by a car while trying to rescue a Bible.  So I got my Bible and devotional handbook, which had flown out of the Bible a little ways, and made it back safely to the side of the road.  I was happy.

As it turned out, some pages in my Bible got a little wrinkled, and there were a few scratches where it had hit the road going 35MPH initially.  The notebook was perfectly fine, but the pen attached to it was cracked a little.  The devotional handbook had some tread marks on it, but that’s it.  All in all, I got some really fun memories out of the whole situation.  Hopefully it won’t happen again, though.

“Forever, O LORD, your word
   is firmly fixed in the heavens.”–Psalm 119:89

2 thoughts on “The Lost Bible Adventure

Leave a Reply

