Worship, Seriously

I just finished reading a book called Stop Dating the Church: Fall in Love With the Family of God by Joshua Harris.  It’s a pretty great book (and a super easy read) about how we should all devote our lives to a church family.  Anyway, here is a great quote from it about messages we hear from the pulpit: “I will be held accountable for what I have heard regardless of whether it moved me emotionally.(p. 112)”  Great quote.

So, yeah, that’s sort of what this post is about, but I’m taking a different spin on it.  I want to talk about the words that come out of our mouths, specifically in the context of corporate worship.  First of all, I just want to say that I love worshipping God through song.  I am a worship leader, and it’s great.  I love leading people into His presence.  He is awesome and amazing, and He deserves every ounce of our praise.

That being said, I think people fake it a lot.  And that’s dangerous.  Here’s why: God doesn’t look at the outward appearance.  He looks at your heart(1 Sam. 16:7).  Also, God wants you to tell the truth(Matt. 5:33-37).  So if you’re singing dangerous words like “God, I give you everything” or “All I need is You, Lord,” you’d better mean it.  God will hold you to those words.  Make sure that you are being sincere.

The good news is, if you are sincere, but not quite there yet on accomplishing what you said, I firmly believe that God will take you there.  If you continue to sing “I surrender all” with a contrite spirit and humble heart, I believe your faith will grow to that level eventually.  That is the power of worship.  But if you’re not seeking God during worship?  You’re just wasting your time.  I don’t know, you may even get punished for that or something.

Here’s the point: When you worship Him, really, really worship Him.  I don’t care if your musicians and singers can’t carry a tune.  I don’t care if all you sing are “boring hymns”(that’s in quotes for a reason.  Hymns are awesome).  The God who gives you life is being praised!  He loves you!  He died for you!  He deserves your whole heart.

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
   be acceptable in your sight,
   O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”–Psalm 19:14

Leave a Reply

