A Christmas Prayer

It seems strange…
What with all the gifts, music, food and family,
That there’s not as much joy as in years past.
In reality, there may be more than ever.  But it’s like I’m trying to
Get some joy out of the things, the “season.” 

I don’t think it’s working.
The new perspective You’ve given to me lately,
It’s in the back of my mind, lurking there.
Like this isn’t supposed to be… 

Where am I going?  I ask.
Should I blindly revel in the pleasure of today,
The mind-numbing fake happiness we create?
Am I that naive, to not care.

But beneath the surface, even the facade,
Is actually something amazing.
The truth about what you did for us:
It’s still there!  It never left!

There is faith growing bigger and bolder
Where once there was nothing to see.
Because what makes this Christmas special
is what You’re doing inside of me.

Thank You, Lord Jesus, for Your indescribable gift.

“But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord.”–Luke 2:10-11

One thought on “A Christmas Prayer

Leave a Reply

