Direction and Focus

Recently, I’ve been hearing encouraging words from people towards me in the realm of, “You’re headed in the right direction.”  Those are great, because I know that I’m in the right place where God can use me.  I am on that straight and narrow path, the path to God, and people can actually see it!  But usually, right after those words comes something like this: “Keep going,” or, “Focus on Him.”  There lies the challenge and perhaps, an even greater encouragement.  I have somewhere I can go!  I can act with more boldness, love deeper, be more purified and know God more than I ever have before.  And what is the only way to go there?  “Forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead.”(Philippians 3:13)  We must all be desperate for more of Him!  And that doesn’t mean stress or toil.  Finding our rest in Christ, we can have the peace and strength required to keep going towards Him.

Look for Him.  See Him.  Focus on Him.  Worship Him.  Don’t try to worship Someone you know nothing about.  Give Him glory for Who He is, Who you know He is.  Find out more about Him.  Don’t be scared that you’ll run out of things to know, because He is endless, eternally glorious.  He is God.  He is Love.  What greater joy can we have but to know Him?  I don’t know of any.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”–Matthew 6:33

Leave a Reply

