Inventory

You know, sometimes you need to ask yourself the tough questions.  Where am I?  What am I doing?  Where should I go from here, and is what I’m doing now leading me in the right direction?

I try to be introspective, making sure I’m not in some sin or something, but when it comes to life goals… I don’t think I even have any.  What is my “calling”?  I have no idea.  Do I even want to know?  I don’t know.  I’ve made a point to “live in the moment,” which is good.  Don’t worry about tomorrow, right?  The thing is, though, I’m pretty sure I’m missing the big picture.  Like, who am I really?  I know I belong to God, I’m His son.  I’m created to worship Him, to love.  But still, what does that look like in real life?

I think I’m in a rut.  It feels like I’m striving for nothing.  The things I’m doing right now are great; I enjoy them.  I’ve been able to minister to people, help others and grow closer to God.  And I think I need a change.  I need to obey God.  But what does He want me to do?

Maybe I already know, but I’ve been ignoring it.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”–Proverbs 3:5-6

2 thoughts on “Inventory

  1. Been there, done that! In fact, I’m just now, at 27, starting to figure out stuff like “calling” and life goals.

    You’ll figure it out too – God loves you too much for it to end up any other way.

  2. argraves

    Dude! I’m right there with you. About ten weeks and the State and Federal governments are going to stop paying for my living expenses. As for me, I’m not asking for God to speak from a fiery cloud and lay out the entirety of my destiny, but it would be very nice to have some idea where he wants me to be after the first of May.

    Let’s pray for one another. If we worship him through whatever happens, remembering who he is, and pray for his guidance, his will above all else, I believe he will honor that. I love you, bro, and I am hoping for the best in your life.

Leave a Reply

