New Life/Triumphant Death

Sometimes, I just have one of those days that gives me a lot of perspective on life.  Yesterday was one of them.  After an amazing sermon on repentance by Pastor Adrian in the morning, I had the privilege of attending both a baptism for some new believers and a memorial service for an old one.

Baptism is an amazing thing.  It was such a joy to gather together as a body and see ten people stand up, confess their faith in Christ and get dunked in some forty-degree water.  It was a real celebration of their faith on our part, but I’m sure there was much more going on in Heaven.

On a more somber note, I also attended a memorial service for a friend’s mother who recently died of cancer.  They celebrated her life there, her legacy of faith, her godly way of raising her children.  Every one of her four children(and two step children)  came up and honored her in some way in front of everyone.  They are all Christians.

As I thought back over yesterday, I realized that I’m somewhere in the middle in my walk of faith.  I was baptized nine years ago, and I’m not done yet.  I’m in.  I’m a part of the body of Christ, and every spiritual gift is in my hands.  I’ve grown so much since then.  The Spirit lives inside me and leads me where I should go.  Oh, how I want to leave a great legacy like that mother did.  At the end of my life, I want Jesus to say to me, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”  My prayer is that the Lord will continue to build me up into the man He wants me to be.

“Unless the LORD builds the house,
   those who build it labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city,
   the watchman stays awake in vain.”–Psalm 127:1

Leave a Reply

