Strengths

In honor of my new Reading List page(see the Pages column on the right), I want to talk a little about a book I read last summer.  It’s come up in conversation with various people recently, so I started thinking about it again.  The name of the book is Now, Discover Your Strengths, and it’s by a couple guys named Marcus Buckingham and Donald O. Clifton, Ph.D.

Anyway, based on a ton of research, The Gallop Organization came up with 34 different positive personality themes.  Here are some examples: Achiever, Empathy, Focus, Learner, Belief and Command.  There are a lot more.  They also devised a test to discover which of these strengths you possess the most, your top 5.  That’s what the book is about.  You can take the test, read the book and find out a little more about yourself and the others around your business who also took the test.

Here are my top 5 themes, according to the StrengthsFinder test:
1. Adaptability
2. Includer
3. Connectedness
4. Input
5. Developer

I plan on doing a mini blog series, one post for each of these themes.  I’ll talk about how I value each strength, and how I’ve seen it play out practically in my life.  In case you’re wondering, I highly recommend this book.  It’s really interesting.

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”–1 Peter 4:10-11

2 thoughts on “Strengths

Leave a Reply

