Adaptability

READY:  Ready for anything!  Ready to work, play, serve, obey, worship, live, etcetera.”  That’s the Royal Ranger motto.  I guess, growing up, I really took it to heart.  Adaptability turned out to be my strongest theme, according to my StrengthsFinder Profile.  And here’s the reason why: life is crazy.  You never know what’s going to hit next.  I don’t care where I am or what I’m doing; if something unexpected happens, I need to be ready and willing to change plans at a moment’s notice.

Of course, not everything unexpected is good, but if I can’t deal with the bad quickly and efficiently, it could be worse.  I used to think of myself as a pessimist, always expecting the worst from life.  It works, you know.  You’re never really surprised by anything bad.  The surprises are the good things, and the fact that you’re surprised by them makes them seem extra good.  The problem with pessimism was that I wasn’t really happy ever, so I kind of shifted my mindset to more of a realist.  Good things happen; bad things happen; it’s life, so deal with it as it comes.

And that’s about where I am today, although I think now I have a much more positive view of reality than most.  While it’s true that horrible things happen, God is love.  Even if I’m grinding it out in the pit of despair, even if I die in it, I’ll be with Him.  I have enough faith to know that no matter what happens along the way, no matter what changes are made to my plans, God is there, and He’s watching over me always.  I can’t be trapped in any sort of box I’ve created for myself, because God’s plans are so much bigger than anything I could ever imagine.  If I’m not open to anything, I’ll miss out on some serious blessings He has in store for me.  In every crazy, random situation, I look for the good part, because God created the good in me.

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”–Romans 8:28

Leave a Reply

