Includer

“I wanna take your Word and shine it all around, but first, help me just to live it, Lord.  And when I’m doing well, help me to never seek a crown, for my reward is giving glory to you.”–Keith Green

At first glance, some might think that I’m kind of a loner.  I am pretty shy and quiet most of the time, definitely not outspoken by any means.  But that doesn’t mean I don’t value good groups of people.  In fact, that couldn’t be further from the truth.

Includer is actually my second-greatest talent according to the StrengthsFinder test.  I see the goodness in groups, the benefits that we can all give to each other.  And the more people the better.  One of the saddest things in the world to me is seeing someone on the outside, excluding themselves because of some silly predisposition, judgement or small hurt from the past.  Together, we are stronger.  We can do greater things.

You know, Jesus accepted all kinds of people.  The religious ones were the exclusive, elite group.  I don’t know about you, but I want to be like Jesus.  He loved everyone.  I have this heart, to see others come to know that love as well.  That’s what evangelism means to me.  It’s an acceptance, a conversation, a demonstration of that Love, an invitation to a better way, the best way: to be a part of the family of God.

I’m really glad I have this talent.  It really is who I am at heart, but I still need to develop this one so much.  I need to find new ways of expressing this side of my personality.  It’s exciting, having an evangelistic heart.  And now that I know I have one, I see the responsibility set before me.  I must love as He does.

“Jesus said, ‘Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.'”–Matthew 19:14

Leave a Reply

