Developer

“And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable men who will also be qualified to teach others.”–2 Tim. 2:2

I’ve always enjoyed teaching.  It feels good to know that someone else can now succeed where they couldn’t before because of what you gave them.  I see the real, true potential in people, and I rejoice with each step of progress they take(whether I was a part of it or not).  Of all my top 5 strengths, I believe that this is one of the most important of them all.

I think it’s good to realize, this world is much bigger than you and I.  What we accomplish only really makes a difference if others can take it and run with it.  If we can give them the opportunity, then why not?  Are we really so selfish as to keep all our knowledge to ourselves?  Not me.  One day I’ll be dead, and if no one learned from my life, well then what was the point?

But it’s not really about my life.  It’s about the lives of others.  Can we enrich them?  Can we love them enough to tell them the truth?  Can we be be wise enough to give good advice, to lead them to God?  I hope so.  I hope that every person I meet will be better when they leave.  It’s the least I can do, for Jesus said to love one another as He has loved us.  Jesus is the one who created our giftings, our strengths.  He’s given them to us for a reason: to love.  And love is not selfish.  Love means relationship.  He loves me.  I, therefore, will love others.

“…Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.”–1 Corinthians 8:1

Leave a Reply

