Idols Are What We Make Them

Let’s all take one step back for a minute, look at our individual lives and ask ourselves this question: what are we serving?

Have you thought of your answer?  You may have several, like your family and friends, maybe your church or your favorite ministry.  Maybe what you serve is an ideal, a dream of world peace or something like that.  Maybe you serve yourself, your personal need for happiness or fulfillment.  Whatever you serve, just remember this: God needs to be first.  And if anything else is hindering your relationship with God in any way, it needs to go.  It is an idol.

What is your idol?  Is it a career, music, money, entertainment, a celebrity, your wife or family, a house, a feeling, a cause, a lifestyle?  No matter what it is, it is sucking the very life out of you.  Instead of indulging in it, worshiping it, we must learn to hate it.  We must hate everything in us that gets in the way of our relationship with God.  He is too precious not to give everything for.

Lately, I’ve been losing interest in certain things like movies, tv, video games and music.  They just don’t give me any pleasure like they used to.  And I think it’s a good thing; I’m glad because of it.  But I feel kind of empty right now.  I hope that the LORD will fill me up soon, give me a direction and a purpose.  I need only Him.

“Put on sackcloth and lament, O priests;
    wail, O ministers of the altar.
Go in, pass the night in sackcloth,
   O ministers of my God!
Because grain offering and drink offering
   are withheld from the house of your God.”–Joel 1:13

2 thoughts on “Idols Are What We Make Them

  1. For me, one of the hardest things to do is not to let ministry itself become the idol. It’s far to easy for me to get so caught up in all the things I’m doing for God that I neglect actually spending time with God.

  2. I think that at the core of any of these questions is, why are we even making idols in the first place? Why do we resort to it? Why do we find ourselves doing the assortment of wrong things that we do? Why is that we fix them for a little while, forget about them, and post them to our blogs a year later (myself included)?

    So, to make these questions one question, are we receiving his love, or do we really know his love?

    This is where I’m at and I’m sharing it, and I love you guys. I am a child.

Leave a Reply

