Love is the Commandment

I was studying the book of 1 John last night, and one thing became very clear to me.  Love for God and love for our brothers are entirely connected.  Now, I love God and my brothers(I’m on the right track!), but definitely not as much as I could.  The good news is, He is faithful and just to forgive us and cleanse us from all unrighteousness if we confess our faults.  That’s amazing!  If we continue to walk with Him, it is impossible to keep sinning.  The reason?  We love because He first loved us.  Jesus Christ is the Savior.

This is my prayer, that I could love others the way Jesus did, not just in word, but in deed and truth.  I know now more than ever before, that I will.

17“By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers.”–1 John 3:16

Leave a Reply

