Why Do I Love God?

I was just pondering this question the other day.  I was thinking about how God unconditionally loves me, and if I could do the same for Him.  He did die for me, after all.  It’s an amazing question, and one which I think everyone should should have to answer.  And are there right and wrong ways, right and wrong motives for loving God?  I wonder.

One of the first reasons that I thought of was that I am commanded to love God.  That’s very true(Duet. 6:5).  Although, I think it’s much more than that.  You see, God always commands us to do things that are good for us.  Following His commands shouldn’t be a chore, if we’ve received the heart of them.  And if love was just a command, it wouldn’t be a very deep love at all.

Anyway, we’re not under the bondage of the law anymore.  We’re under grace(Rom. 6:14).  With the new covenant created by Jesus’ death on the cross, we have grace, forgiveness and victory.  So, is that why I love God?  Do I love Him because He’s given me so many blessings?  Well, yeah, but I don’t love Him just for what He’s given me.  If that were the case, He’d just be buying my affections.  No one, especially God, would want that kind of shallow, one-sided love.  In addition, we’ll all have trials and suffering at some point.  If the benefits are the foundation of our love, it will quickly dissolve in those times.

No, our love for God should be very simple, I think.  It shouldn’t be out of a sense of obligation or legalism.  He is Love.  When you know who He is, I don’t think you can help it.  He’s very lovable.  I love God because I believe He is who He says He is.  He is God, and He is good.  He is the Lover, and I am His beloved.  We just love each other. I think it’s as simple as that.

“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.”
–Hebrews 11:6

Leave a Reply

