New Shoes

New ShoesSo here I am, living in a new city, working at an actual job, looking for a new church and finding new friends.  As of last night, I am also the proud new owner of a pair of these grey Converse All-Stars.  I think they’ll be my mascot or something for the beginning of this new season.  They just seem to fit well.

Let me tell you, there have been many times in the past two weeks and the months leading up to the move where I stopped and asked myself, “Why am I doing this?  Why am I leaving all my friends and family, these people I love so much, to go to a place I don’t even care about?”  Honestly, I don’t think I’ve found a good answer yet.  But it’s coming soon.

This has been a time of discovery for me.  I’ve discovered that God really does provide in amazing ways(not that I didn’t know that before, but He continues to amaze).  I can rely on Him for all of my needs.  He is my source, my strength, my light.  Through this lonely time, He remains my best friend.

I’ve done a lot of driving around this past week, going to see monuments and memorials, malls and shopping centers, walking through streets and parks.  They’ve all been okay, but none of them can compare to my relationship with God.  I truly am not of this world.  I am a stranger in a foreign land, come from a kingdom far greater than we can imagine.

Actually, God does have people here.  I’ve found some.  Walking into JHOP DC a couple nights ago felt like the closest thing to home I’ve felt in a while.  National Community Church this morning(even though I missed half the service) was also a great encouragement to me.  God really is everywhere.

“So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God.”–Ephesians 2:19

Leave a Reply

