Seers

There’s something I’ve been pondering the past week or so, ever since  I started realizing how dirty the windows in my car have gotten.  Whenever I roll them down, the city around me looks so much more real, so much more colorful.  I can see the buildings, the trees, the people, with such a clarity that cannot be taken through my dingy old windows.

Think also about a screened-in porch.  You get a feeling of the outside; you can even feel some of the breeze, soak in some of the sun.  But it’s not the same as walking barefoot in the grass, climbing a tree, smelling a rose.  You can watch thee rain through your bedroom window, but until you get soaked in it, you’ll only have a basic understanding of what it really is.

There are many ways we lose our sight.  Some people are nearsighted.  Everything far away seems nonexistent.  Others are farsighted.  They can’t see what’s right in front of their face.  Some wear sunglasses, maybe even blindfolds, because the reality of life is just too much for them to handle.  In one way or another, we are all blind.

The only way to cure spiritual blindness is a relationship with God.  He is the Truth.  Still, some churches insist on putting on a facade.  We have flashy lights, upbeat music, somber music, catchy slogans, witty billboards, feel-good sermons, guilt-trip sermons(sometimes involving the word “finances”), fellowship meals, conferences and free gifts for first-time visitors.  Sometimes, I get the feeling that we just want people to join the club rather than find the true and living God of the Universe.  In being “seeker-sensitive,” we haven’t left anything for them to see.

Who am I to talk, though?  I’ve been a part of it.  I know that I myself am blinded in too many ways to count.  Maybe we all know this.  Maybe we’re too scared to be anything different.  All I know is one thing for sure: we must follow Jesus with everything we have.

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.'”–John 14:6

Leave a Reply

