Coffee in Traffic

I really like coffee, but  I didn’t always.  I had to acquire a taste for it.  One day I just decided, “I’m going to start drinking coffee.”  Now that I think about it, it might not have been the best decision.  Coffee really isn’t all that healthy.  In fact, it’s probably somewhere around the opposite of that.  I like it anyway.

I used to be scared of traffic.  When I have to drive around in it every day, though, it’s really just illogical to be that way.  I’ve saved myself a lot of stress by enjoying it instead.  I pass accidents all the time.  Could that be me at some point?  Well, yeah, but it’s not me today.  Now, I can drift listlessly along, sipping coffee and laughing for no good reason.

Life certainly is bitter.  If we load it up with enough “cream and sugar” until we can stand it, we can get by, maybe even learn to love it.  There are certainly dangers all around us, and some have fallen victim to those very dangers.  Good news is, if we ignore those hard things, those helpless people, isn’t it like they aren’t even there?  Less stress, good for everyone, right?

Although, I can’t help but ask myself, what if I’m not supposed to like coffee?  What if, instead of believing I’m going somewhere, I should be stopping the car and turning off the engine?  Could it be that the simple, quiet place holds the loveliest One of all?

“Do not love the world or the things in the world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.”–1 John 2:15

Leave a Reply

