Don’t Make God Wait!

First off, let me just say, this post is definitely directed at one particular person: me.  I am one of the worst procrastinators I know, sadly.  For some reason, I always seem to wait until the last possible minute to do important things.  That’s why I write posts like this.  It will be a great reminder in the future, maybe even make me a little more responsible.  I hope.

Now to the point.  I was thinking about a particular scripture the other day.  This one, actually:

“But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”(2 Peter 3:8)

So, what does that mean?  I know a lot of people who use this verse as an argument for an “old earth,” meaning the “days” in the book of Genesis were, in fact, spans of billions of years.  I’m not so sure about all that, but this I do know.  When God tells me to do something now, He means now.

When He says, “Lay down your life,” and, “Follow me,” He doesn’t mean tomorrow.  What, will we do it tomorrow and make Him wait a thousand years?  Three years from now?  That’s one million years to God!

Time may seem troublesome to us for now, but take hope in this: God’s timing is perfect.  If you’re living for Him now, you can trust that He will be faithful to you, His beloved child.  He does not delay in forgiving us of every sin.

“By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers.”–1 John 3:16

One thought on “Don’t Make God Wait!

  1. lexi

    Nice posting, Joel. I heard Kelly say last week that, “Obedience that is not immediate is not really obedience.” How true that it, and how selfish of us to tell God, “Not now-I’m busy.”
    I want my life verse to be this: So I did as I was commanded.
    Thanks, Joel. We miss you down here!

Leave a Reply

