Freedom or Security?

And the debate goes on.  Due to my newly discovered interest in a certain news website, I’ve been getting a little more insight into the political scene lately.  Seems to me that conservatives don’t trust the government.  They’re really scared that their perceived “freedoms” are being taken away.  On the other side, liberals seem to not trust the people and the current economic system.  They believe that more regulations and programs will protect us from our crazy selves, bring more security.  And who can blame them?  Just about anyone can tell that people are crazy, and both the government and the populous are made up of none other than people.  I love every one of them.

Where do I stand in this grand debate?  Honestly, I could care less.  All the freedom I’ll ever need, I’ve found in Jesus Christ.  I couldn’t be any more secure than I am right now, in the loving arms of God.  People can debate this issue as much as they want, but I’m sure they’ll never reach any real answer.  Who we need is Jesus.  That’s about it.

“See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to human tradition, according to the elemental spirits of the world, and not according to Christ.”–Colossians 2:8

2 thoughts on “Freedom or Security?

  1. No, liberals want to protect our country from corporatism, which brought down our economy. Conservatives are pro-corporatism. They want to protect the insurance giants and their profits, public be damned.

Leave a Reply

