Rebellion, Protest and the Divine Right of Kings

Living in DC, most all the local buzz is about politics.  It’s a little strange for me, because I was never really that interested in politics.  I tended to ignore it most of the time.  This was my philosophy: God controls politics anyway(Romans 13:1-7), so why worry about it?

Some protesters got arrested a couple days ago in the hallway outside Nancy Pelosi’s office.  They had been tearing pages from the new health care bill, throwing crumpled pieces through the doorway while shouting things like “You’re going to Hell!”  Embarrassing things like that serve to strengthen my philosophy to just stay out of it.

But still, I pray.  The Bible says to pray, so that’s what I do.  I pray in public places, and I pray in the closet.  I’m really not certain how effective the public prayer is.  After all, Jesus discouraged it.  It can seem like a protest, and I don’t want to be a rebel(1 Sam. 15:23).

What I do know is that God uses our leaders for His purposes.  Here is a prayer I spoke silently in front of the Supreme Court the other day: “Lord, just as you used your servant Nebuchadnezzar to judge the Daughter of Zion, use these nine Supreme Court justices to judge the Daughter of Washington with all righteousness.”

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.”—1 Timothy 2:1-2

3 thoughts on “Rebellion, Protest and the Divine Right of Kings

  1. Ann H.

    Hi Joel. I don’t believe, living in a country that allows freedom of speech and assembly, that all protest stems from rebellion. (I have good reasons behind this but no time to type them!) I don’t condone the behavior of those outside Nancy Pelosi’s office. Every time someone abuses the freedom we do have, we all lose some of that freedom.

    1. Yes, I agree with you. The Prophets in the Bible, for example, spoke out against wicked kings and selfish generations. It was God’s will that they did so. The false prophets denied the sin. But somehow we get stuck in our little worlds, and we get offended and bitter at leaders who impose on us, and we forget to honor and love those God has placed in authority over us.

      1. Ann H.

        You touched on bitterness – that is in a heart of the individual. I’m thankful that we’re allowed to disagree with our leaders and can work to change our country out of love for our country. This should help us to avoid bitterness. (should!)

Leave a Reply

