Frailty

At this moment, I feel a little sick, a little more tired and even more worn out.  Seems like life has been going full speed ahead for the last two months straight.  Moving, traveling twice across the country, working 10-hour days, and most recently, looking for a new car.  Just about all the energy is gone.

Do you know how hopeless the DMV can make you feel?  First, finding out you don’t have enough proofs of residence to get a driver’s licence, then finding out your car is about $2000 worth of repairs short of a passing safety test and registration.  I’ve spent so much time in the last two weeks researching cars that now sitting in traffic, I’m noticing the make and model of every car on the road.  I’m making myself crazy.  And it’s cold outside.

You know what, though?  Throughout this whole ordeal, God has been faithful.  In my frailty of mind, body and spirit, He continues to sustain me.  And He’ll never stop either.  I don’t care what I have to go through, my prayer remains, “Stretch me, Lord.  Build me into the mighty man you want me to be.”  I find myself thankful.

“You make known to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.

Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead.”
–(Psalms 16:11, 17:15, 2 Cor. 1:9)

One thought on “Frailty

  1. Chris D

    Joel.. I know what you mean about the car shopping. In Sept I bought a 2006 Mazda3 after a month of research…and still am looking at other cars. God is definitely faithful when you put your trust in Him and even when we sometimes don’t. Thanks for the encouraging posts!

Leave a Reply

