Better

I visited New York City over New Year’s, and I have to say: the bagels there are simply amazing.  Honestly, I don’t think I even knew what a bagel was before I went to New York.

This past Saturday, I was blessed to partake of two bagels from the always-excellent Panera Bread.  While they were good, they definitely paled in comparison to the New York bagels I ate less than a month ago.

It’s all about experience.  Just one short month ago, I would have said that bagels from Panera were very good.  Now, I don’t think I could say that truthfully.  What changed?  Their bagels didn’t.  I did.  My mind was literally transformed in those brief moments of NY bagel consumption.

On an infinitely more important scale, I think it’s the same way with God.  When we get that first taste of His goodness, our mind is blown away.  He is the most amazing being in the universe, and He loves us!  Not only that, but as we go deeper, grow closer to Him, we find He is even sweeter than we first imagined.  As we learn about Him through the diligent study of His Word, as we worship Him with all our emotion, as we see his power displayed in miracles, as we draw close to Him in prayer, as we declare the Gospel and see lives completely saved, we find that there is no end to His mercy and grace.

The love of Christ is so much better than we know.  Let us diligently seek to know Him better in everything we do.

“So that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.”—Ephesians 3:17-19

One thought on “Better

Leave a Reply

