A Child’s Heart

On Sunday, I experienced something both revelatory and devastating at the same time.  “Conviction” is probably the right word for it.  Anyway, whatever it was, I know my heart needs to change now.

I sat down at the piano to worship, as I often do.  I started singing and playing to my Father God.  Just then, the little 4-year-old boy who belongs to the family upstairs(I live in the basement) ran in and started goofing off.  After rolling around on the floor for a bit, he came up behind me, grabbed me in the right arm and shouted “JOEL!” as loud as he could in my ear.  I quickly shoved him away and kept playing, a little annoyed.  Then he came behind me on the left side again yelling, “JOEL!”

I was fed up by now, but I yelled back, “What!”

“I need to tell you something!”

“I’m playing!  You can just tell me!” I said over the sound of the music, all the while trying to ignore him.  But at that, his chance to say anything was over, as his dad came in and dragged him out of the room.  I still remember his sad, scared face as he looked back at me, probably on the way to a stern talking-to about not bothering others.

I tried to go back to worship.  Really, I did.  But I couldn’t do it.  All I could think of was this: the fact that Jesus wouldn’t have done what I just did.  Really, it hit me, that my heart was entirely the opposite of God’s in that situation, and there I was trying to “worship.”  Talk about hypocrisy.

Children just want to be with you, to talk to you, to love you.  They are enthralled and fascinated by every new and amazing thing they are given.  Ignorant and disobedient sometimes, yes, but young and willing to receive gifts and guidance from their father.

We must approach God like that.  We can’t say “I know best,” because we really don’t.  We’re not stronger or wiser than the Father, and we never will be.  We are adopted as sons and daughters of God, bought with a price.  Let’s be eternally thankful He’s not too busy to listen to us.

“But Jesus called them to him, saying,  ‘Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.'”—Luke 18:16-17

One thought on “A Child’s Heart

Leave a Reply

