Breaking the Love of Money

“When you ask for testing, expect to be tested.  Also expect more grace.”

The Bible has a lot to say about money.  Up until recently, I hadn’t really worried about it too much.  It’s strange to think about how I actually had more money to throw around when I was in college than I do now, but it’s true.  Now I have a car payment, much higher rent, income taxes, health insurance and retirement plans.  I’m not complaining, just stating the facts that my life situation has changed(seriously though, retirement?  I’m only twenty-two!).  Anyway, because the Bible has so much to say about money, I want to live my life in accordance with its teachings.  First of all, that means not loving money.  While I’m sure there are others that love money more than I do, I can’t make comparisons like that.  I desire to love God with all my heart, so that means money should have none of it.  I pray that the love of money would have absolutely no place in my life.

I’ll tell you a story.  This past December, I bought a used car and traded in my old one.  When the temporary registration was up, I drove over to the MVA to get a permanent one.  What awaited me there was a fine of $150 for unverified insurance.  They fined me for my old car, the one I had traded in a month before.  “Okay,” I thought, “I’ll just tell them the truth.  Of course I canceled the insurance on a car I didn’t own.  How could they fine me for that?”  They didn’t budge.  Oh, but wait!  I had the buyer’s order.  It had the evidence of the trade-in.  Ah, but the VIN number wasn’t on there, so it didn’t count.  Unfortunately, my paperwork came up short, so I was forced to pay the fine.

Let me tell you, I was mad.  I honestly can’t remember a time when I was more angry.  I was livid.  I was beside myself with raging self-pity, not directed at anyone in particular, but towards the system, the bureaucracy, the world!  I felt twisted up inside.

Then He hit me with a peace that passes understanding.  “Let not the sun go down on your anger,” He said.  “Give to Caesar what is Caesar’s, and to God what is God’s.”  I was humbled when He brought to my remembrance His unfailing love.  Nothing, let alone a measly $150, will ever cause His love to fail.  If I ever need that $150, I am certain that He will supply it, for He supplies all my needs.

This and other recent tests have served to strengthen my faith.  I fail some, probably most of them.  Nevertheless, they make me run to God.  Next time I will be stronger, because I will be more dependent on His grace.

“But he knows the way that I take;
when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold.”—Job 23:10

Leave a Reply

