Presence

There I was, walking back to my car from Best Buy.  I’d just bought a cable for ten dollars, so I could connect my laptop audio to my TV.  Of course I needed sound if I wanted to stream video.  That was a ten dollars well spent.

Walking in the opposite direction was a group of four young black ladies.  They seemed very happy to be walking, as evidenced by their loud talking and laughing.  I flashed a little smile at them from a distance, for they were quite amusing to see.  I’m not sure if any of them saw that smile, but it didn’t matter.

As I passed them on the sidewalk, to my surprise, one took a slight break from her chatting and looked right at me.

“Hi!” she said in a most energetic tone.

“Hi!” I replied, with a bit of a shocked look on my face.  I think I took a half step backwards in that one moment.

“Do you work alone?” she continued, not missing a beat.

“No, I don’t,” I said after giving the question a second of thought.  Because I don’t, of course.  I do work with others.  The fact is undeniable.  I immediately continued walking in my initial direction, back to my car, and the ladies continued towards the Best Buy.  It wasn’t until that night that I really started thinking about what I had said.

I believe in the omnipresence of God.  At least, I do in theory.  But it seems at times that I try to do His work by myself.  Sometimes, I just end up getting intimidated and not doing anything.  I knew I needed a renewed mind, so I started meditating on this: He is with me.  Oh, the joy to know this Truth!  My God’s presence is within me!  I do not work alone.  May that fact be always in my heart.

It’s funny how the smallest encounters can shift paradigms.  Now that I think back on it, those girls did seem almost angelic.

“[Elisha] said, ‘Do not be afraid, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.’  Then Elisha prayed and said, ‘O LORD, please open his eyes that he may see.’ So the LORD opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw, and behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.”—2 Kings 6:16-17

Leave a Reply

