The Middle of the Road

While driving the other day, I found myself consciously riding in the middle lane, moving at a medium speed.  It’s comfortable there, you know.  Leaving a passing lane open for those impatient drivers; being able to pass all the sluggish ones.  Still going at a reasonably fast speed, but almost guaranteed never to get a speeding ticket.  It fits my personality well.

The strange thing about the middle lane is, you’re swayed by everyone else all the time.  Are the fast cars going slower now?  You need to slow down too.  Are the slow cars speeding up?  You have to go faster; you don’t want to be the slowest, do you?

Now here’s my point: this “middle” concept works well in traffic, but not so well in real life.  Try to apply these concepts, and you end up a mediocre person.  As a Christian, I know I am called to much, much more than that.  I am seated in heavenly places with God!  He has given me power by the Holy Spirit!

If God wants me to speed ahead at  120 MPH, blazing ahead with a fiery passion, everyone else will have to make way for me.  If He wants me to come to a complete stop, get on my knees and pray, others will just have to drive around.  This is my mandate: to obey God no matter what differing opinions surround me.  There is a love that conquers death, and it lives in me.  I will radically forgive, make disciples, proclaim the gospel, cast out demons, lay hands on the sick and be a witness.

I desire not to be enticed by the things of this world, but to be captivated by the Lord Jesus Christ.  May we cast away everything that hinders love.

“For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds.  We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.”–2 Corinthians 10:4-6

One thought on “The Middle of the Road

Leave a Reply

