Dreaming of Revival

For two of the past five nights, I’ve had dreams of revival.  I’m not sure exactly 100% what that means, but I’m going with the obvious for now; revival is coming.  I need to get ready.

A few days ago, I started reading this classic lecture series by Charles Finney.  It’s just something I was led to do.  Anyway, it’s just blowing me away with its insight.  Back in 1835, the Church in America had the same exact problems that it does now: complacency, unbelief and a tragically skewed view of God’s sovereignty.  But our God today is the same God who sent the Second Great Awakening.  We can have the same faith in Him Whose goodness lasts forever!

That’s ultimately what I think these dreams are for: evidence for my prayers of faith to reference.  The Spirit is stirring this desire inside me, this desire to see a city turned to God.  Can Capitol Hill meet the Lord face-to-face?  God is certainly great enough to make it happen.  Will I have the faith to ask Him for this great blessing?  I know I will, as long as He lives and His Word remains in my heart and on my lips.

“Such is the generation of those who seek him,
who seek the face of the God of Jacob.  Selah“–Psalm 24:6

Leave a Reply

