Learning How To Love

One thing I’ve noticed lately is how inexperienced I am in the art of loving others.  I’m around a great deal of loving people, that’s for sure.  I live in a great environment, with a wonderful Church family.  Still, it’s hard.  There are so many people out there who need love, and need it in different ways.  Each person is an individual, with their own wants, needs and desires.  How am I, as a carrier of God’s love,  supposed to know the best way of loving them, honoring them, helping them?  And if I do it wrong, will I be misrepresenting God?

The best I can do is trust Him.  Jesus is the author of love; it was His idea in the first place.  No matter how much the world has distorted it, there is one place I can look to find the perfect example of love, and it’s Him.  God, the most loving being in the universe, made me good and re-made me even better.  He will make the way for me to love well.  The Holy Spirit will teach me; that’s a promise from Jesus.  What I must do, then, is listen.  I must learn and obey.

In Galatians chapter 1, Paul remarks that no man taught him the true Gospel.  He learned it straight from an encounter with Jesus Himself.  God poured revelation into Paul’s heart, straight truth right in.  He received a calling unlike anyone else at the time.  He didn’t need to consult anyone right away, because he knew.  He had to go and preach to the Gentiles.  That was his act of love.  The Gospel is what they needed.

I think this is why John said, “There is no fear in love.”  Because when I really love, obeying God is not an option.  It’s a pleasure, no matter how weird, scary or intimidating it may seem on the outside.  He knows best, no matter the cost.  Jesus’ love is worth everything.

“For he is rightly instructed;
his God teaches him.”–Isaiah 28:26

2 thoughts on “Learning How To Love

  1. Pingback: Mary On My Mind « Dawn’s Blog

  2. Pingback: Love Never Fails | EVEN AS MY SOUL PROSPERS

Leave a Reply

