Groaning

Two days ago, God really focused my mind on Romans chapter 8.  I remembered that phrase: “All creation waits and groans.”  The desire has been marinating in my heart for what seems like an eternity, to live a life led by the Spirit, to be fully born into the glorious life of Godliness.  The chapter seemed to open up to me as I read and reread it, light shining on the reality of just what it means to be a child of God.

Yesterday, I was longing for this reality to show itself.  Sitting inside my home, away from the cold and separated from the people outside, I saw them outside the window and wondered why we had no relationship.  My heart went out to the lost, groaning for the Kingdom to be made real to them.  I stayed in the house, watching, waiting and praying.

The Word says that creation groans like the pains of childbirth for the sons of God to be revealed.  We ourselves groan for our adoption as sons and our full glorification.  And in our weakness, when we don’t know what to do or how to pray, the Spirit of God groans for us.  These three and everything long for Jesus!  He is the best Savior.  His Kingdom is the best kingdom.

My heart and my hands burn with the desire for healing, restoration and new birth.  You don’t know how many times I’ve daydreamed of walking into a bar shouting confidently, “Who here needs Jesus?”  I can see in my mind, the hurting people coming face to face with Love, weeping, repenting, coming to know Salvation reality.  I can see it.  It’s here.  It’s right here!

Children don’t worry about where their next meal is coming from.  They believe that their Father can and will provide for them.  In that Spirit, I refuse to conform to the pattern of this world.  I will not seek the security that earthly riches offer, because it is inferior to Love.  I must seek the Kingdom of God, because it is here.  The Kingdom is now, and it is in the future.  These are the groans of my heart: to see the King exalted and the people redeemed.  Is there anything greater to live for than that?

“Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.”–Romans 8:5

Leave a Reply

