Conduit of Love

I was meditating on the First Commandment last week while on a plane home.  I was wondering how if we love God with everything, as He says, how we can also love others.  For loving others is just as important a command.  It is like the First, in so many ways.  So I asked God, “How can I love others if I’ve already reached my love capacity, and You have it all?”  His answer to me was this: my love for others is really His love flowing through me.  When I am fully connected to Him, love will flow unhindered.

I got this picture of an electrical conduit.  In reality, it’s a tube with bunch of contained cables connected to a power source, moving that power to the place of usefulness.  It can be a long journey, but the conduit is what faithfully brings the energy to dark places.  The conduit is worthless if it’s not connected to the source.  If it’s only plugged in half way, it’s nowhere close to working properly.  No, it will not work with anything other than a total connection.

I think this is the way it is with love.  We have strength and capacity for love, a wire that we can offer to anything we wish.  It could be a career, family or lover.  Each one ignites a little spark in you, a feeling of purpose, significance and destiny.  And it’s good for a time, but then it’s gone.  Such small sparks do not remain forever.

However, when we connect to the Source, the One Lord of all creation, the Maker of Heaven and earth, we are a bridge between two realities.  We are filled with the love of God, to overflowing!  The best way to bless the world is to receive the love of the Father; receive His heart.  Then we can truly dream Kingdom dreams and set those fires of consuming joy all over the world!

“Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me.”–John 15:4

Leave a Reply

