Good Music

A big dream of mine that has been developing for a while is to create some really good music.  I was listening to a secular artist the other day, and I wondered to myself.  “Why can’t I make music this good?”  I quickly checked myself.  The truth was, the song was not good.  Not in a righteous kind of way.  Truthfully, it was effective.  The song did was music was supposed to do: open up the heart and reveal things, stir up the soul, set it in motion.  That secular song was greatly moving, but in a depressing way.  It wasn’t good.  It didn’t fill me with hope or life.  It didn’t draw me closer to God.

I want the best.  I want good music.  I believe that music can absolutely be well-produced, well-written and filled with holiness all at the same time.  It doesn’t have to be a “Christian” copy of some secular trend.  It doesn’t even have to be popular, but it has to be powerful.

Creativity is an incredible gift that is so often wasted.  I hope to live a life that calls out, with clarity and excellence, the pure songs of my heart.  I want to inspire the people around me to do the same!  We won’t write music glorifying selfishness or pride or promiscuity.  We have been destined to glorify our Creator by doing the same thing He does: creating beautiful things.

“Oh come, let us sing to the LORD;
let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!”–Psalm 92:1

Leave a Reply

